Here are our most frequently asked questions (FAQs)…
Are you a non-denominational officiant?
Yes, I am an ordained non-denominational minister and I’m happy to perform any type of ceremony. It can be as religious or non-religious as you like!
If I want a religious ceremony will you do that?
Yes, as noted above, I’m happy to perform any type of ceremony. It can be as religious or non-religious as you like! The choice is yours!
Do you perform same-sex ceremonies?
Absolutely! I believe that everyone is entitled to be married to their one and only!
What areas do you serve?
I serve all of Central Oregon, including Bend, La Pine, Prineville, Redmond, Sisters, and Sunriver.
Do you attend the rehearsal?
Yes – that is included in my fee. I believe it’s important for the officiant to attend the rehearsal to help insure that everything goes smoothly the day of your wedding!
What is your fee and do you require a deposit?
My fee is $150. I do require a non-refundable deposit of $50 to reserve your date.
Do you offer any discounts?
Yes! I offer discounts for military and first responders (please contact me for details). And if you choose to pay the entire fee at the time of our consult, then you’ll receive a 20% discount!
Do you take last minute requests?
I’m happy to if my schedule permits. For a ceremony that is two weeks or less from the time of booking the fee will increase to $200.
Will you write our vows?
Of course! You can provide your own vows, or I’m happy to write your vows for you if you so desire!
Will you file our marriage license with the county after our ceremony?
Yes – it is my legal responsibility to submit the completed license per the marriage laws of Oregon. And besides that, you should be enjoying your honeymoon and your first days as a married couple, not worrying about filing the marriage license!
What are the important marriage laws in Oregon?
- * Waiting Period. Once you receive your marriage license from the County Clerk, there is a 3-day waiting period before you can legally be married. So please be sure to get your license at least 3 days before your ceremony.
- * Marriage License Expiration. The marriage license is only valid for 60 days. So make sure you don’t get your marriage license farther than 60 days before your ceremony.
- * Marriage License Return. The completed/signed marriage license must be returned to the County Clerk by the officiant within 5 days of the ceremony.
- * Witnesses. Oregon requires that at least two witnesses over the age of 18 be present at the ceremony (apart from the officiant).
- * Legal Age for Marriage. Both people must be at least 18 years old.
- * Prohibited & Void Marriages. The following marriages are prohibited and if solemnized in Oregon are absolutely void: (a) When either party has a spouse living at the time of the marriage. (b) When the parties are first cousins or any nearer of kin to each other.
What church/organization are you ordained through?
I am an Ordained Minister through the Universal Life Church of Seattle. 2730 1st Avenue South, Seattle, WA 98134